Partnership origins

From April 2007 the former Mersey Dee Alliance (Chester, Cheshire, Ellesmere Port and Neston local authorities, Wirral and Merseytravel) and the Four Counties Partnership (Chester, Cheshire, Ellesmere Port and Neston, Flintshire and Wrexham local authorities and the Welsh Government) were merged and with the addition of Denbighshire, formed the new Mersey Dee Alliance Partnership. Partners decided to keep the name ‘Mersey Dee Alliance’.

The former MDA delivered the NWDA funded BESS programme (Business Employment Support Strategy).   The Four Counties Partnership was involved in the development of the North East Wales West Cheshire Sub Regional Spatial Strategy.

In April 2009, due to local government reorganisation, Cheshire West and Chester Council replaced Chester City, Cheshire County and Ellesmere Port and Neston Borough Councils.

The Partnership includes the following nine organisations all of which have signed up as members to a formal Partnership Agreement.   The membership is now:

  • Cheshire West and Chester Council
  • Flintshire County Council
  • Wrexham – Glyndwr University
  • Merseytravel
  • University of Chester
  • Wirral Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Wrexham County Borough Council
  • Welsh Government

The partnership between the MDA and the NWDA ended in April 2012 when the NWDA was  disbanded and replaced by Local Enterprise Partnerships.

Glyndwr University became a full member of the MDA in December 2011, closely followed by University of Chester in November 2012.